top of page

Personal Statement


Ever since I was a little kid, I have always been interested in English. That is because my family was often playing the albums of international singers and bands such as Radiohead, The Smiths, Santana, to Britney Spears almost every day. So, I used to hear and sing along the songs although I cannot pronounce the lyrics well. I grew up close to English even though my family did not speak English in daily basis.

Basically, I love to learn new language. I have learned other languages as well such as Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, and French. I learned Japanese and Mandarin for about 2 years but I never practiced them anymore. I learned basic Korean, French and German but to be honest, they are quite hard.

Being an English Dept. student has helped me to improve my analysis and evaluation skills through various essay work. Moreover, there are so many advantages that I get. I can switch and mix code whenever I want, watch movies without subtitle, think critically, and even see things in new perspective.

I personally believe that this field is not only about language and literature. I learned about the history and society of the countries which majority are English native speakers as well. Besides that, I am happy that I get the opportunity to analyze literary works such as poems that I have been adoring since quite a long time as well as understand that there may be something behind a poem. These kind of work may not be easy, but intellectually challenging and immensely satisfying to complete.

I once got to volunteer and teach children in kindergarten and primary school. Such experience was really worth the effort and made me happy since I can help them take advantage of my help. This kind of activity helped me a lot in developing my creativity, determination, and patience.


bottom of page