top of page

How Listening to Music and Reading Novels Improve My English


source: pinterest

"Rest, nature, books, music... such is my idea of happiness." - Leo Tolstoy

Who does not love music? Who does not love books?

Books and music are such an important role of my life.

I listen to music everyday whether I am doing tasks, commuting, or even when it is 3 am and I cannot sleep. I listen to music.

Although I read books, especially novel only when I have time, I consider this as my hobby that improves my English.

To me, music is like a cure, a therapist, an escape. When I have no words to explain what is in my mind, music helps. Music is like the language of feelings. When I am down, music sometimes cheers me up.

Music unites the universe as well. When two persons like the same genre of music or the same band or singer, they would just sing along when they hear a song of their favorite band or singer is being played.

Book is like the window of the new world. My favorite book is novel, of course. Reading novel is a kind of challenging thing to do. Since there is no picture in it, all you could do is just read and imagine the scenes on your mind.

My favorite novelists are Jane Austen, Paulo Coelho, Maya Angelou, Nicholas Sparks and John Green.

Both books and music play an important role in improving my English.

Reading is such a good way to improve the quality of life. It is like a memory trainer. It trains your brain to remember well.

Also, reading helps to gain new knowledge. It could be a new vocabulary or new way of thinking. As well as listening to music.


bottom of page